Donor Recognition Societies

Webster University is grateful for the steadfast support of our worldwide community of scholars, practitioners and leaders. In appreciation for the commitment by our leading donors to the University's success, we welcome them to our Donor Recognition Societies. 


Recognition Societies

Webster Society

The Webster Society recognizes alumni, parents and friends who donate $1,500 or more annually to the University. Members of the Webster Society make an immediate impact on our global community with their generosity and set the pace for meeting the needs of our students and strengthening our programs.

For more information, please contact:
Macy Russell, Manager, Donor Relations & Engagement
phone: 314.246.7457 

Webster Society

The 1915 Society, named for the year that Webster University was founded in St. Louis, provides lifelong recognition to donors who have made gifts to Webster University that total $25,000 or more since the date of their first gift. Members of the 1915 Society are the cornerstone of Webster, and their years of generous support ensure the future success of the University.

For more information, please contact:
Macy Russell, Manager, Donor Relations & Engagement
phone: 314.246.7457 

Webster Society

The Legacy Society honors alumni, parents, and friends who through thoughtful estate and financial planning ensure that resources will be available to support Webster far into the future. Planned gifts include a bequest provision in a will or trust, and beneficiary designations on retirement assets or insurance policies. Legacy Society members play an impactful role in the future of Webster University.

For more information, please contact:
Macy Russell, Manager, Donor Relations & Engagement
phone: 314.246.7457 

Jackson & Thomas Society

In 1950, Jeannette Mae Jackson and Janet Irene Thomas were the first two African American students to graduate from Webster University. Named in honor of these pioneering women, the Jackson & Thomas Society was established to recognize those donors who share Webster's vision and long-standing commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion. Society membership is granted to those who provide an annual financial gift in support of scholarships, programs and initiatives that promote diversity, equity, and inclusion at Webster University.

Donors whose gifts are designated to the following funds will qualify for membership in the Society:

  • Jackson & Thomas Society Fund - Gifts to this fund are used to support a variety of student programs and needs, including scholarship support, study abroad opportunities, as well as the annual DEI Conference.
  • Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Fund – Gifts to this fund provide general support to programs and initiatives that further Webster’s DEI mission.
  • Suggs Scholars Scholarship Fund – Named in honor of distinguished community leader Dr. Donald M. Suggs, this annual scholarship supports the recruitment and retention of academically talented undergraduate students from ethnic groups typically under-represented in higher education.
  • Saint Louis Community Scholarship Fund – Gifts to this annual scholarship will support first-time, under-served college students residing in either North St. Louis County or the City of St. Louis.
  • AAAC Endowed Scholarship Fund – Gifts to this endowed scholarship fund, initiated by the African American Alumni Chapter at Webster University, are awarded to African American full-time, undergraduate students.

Make a gift and join the Jackson & Thomas Society today.

For more information, contact:

Kelly Dopman, Senior Director of Alumni Relations
phone: 314.246.5944

Our important corporate and foundation partners that make an annual donation of $1,500 or more are recognized for their partnership in furthering the University’s mission.

The Webster University Visionary Award

Each year during our exclusive Webster Society Celebration, Webster University honors a person or organization with the Visionary Award for their long-standing commitment to Webster and our students. The legacy of Visionary Award recipients remains for years to come. See video tributes to recent recipients below.

Recent Visionary Award Recipients

The 2021 Visionary Award was presented to Mary Alice Dwyer-Dobbin '63 in recognition of many years of support and service to Webster, including the endowed scholarship in stage management in her name, and to the late Alice (Donovan) Boylan for her loyalty and support, including a Legacy Gift she left to Webster upon her passing in 2020.

The 2020 Visionary Award was presented to the William T. Kemper Foundation for their extraordinary generosity and long-standing support of Webster's mission. Their support has advanced outstanding teaching and learning at Webster. Learn more about the foundation's impact on Webster in this video:


Gracious donors, Marianne ('66) and Peter Gleich have turned their passion for International Business and French studies into life-changing support for Webster students, including endowed scholarships in these areas and study abroad for students who wouldn't normally have the means. Such opportunities "open students' eyes to a new world and new cultures," Marianne says. "It's important for students to be able to immerse themselves in a wider range of international experiences." 


Laura Herring '70 is a distinguished Webster University alumna who has given back to her alma mater in countless ways, from  leadership on key initiatives and sharing her enthusiasm with fellow alumni to generous support of the programs that mean the most to her.


The late Harry and Arden Fisher were music lovers known for enriching the St. Louis community through their support of the Community Music School of Webster University. In 2017 they were awarded the Visionary Award in recognition of their continuing support of this award-winning part of Webster's Leigh Gerdine College of Fine Arts. 

2020: William T. Kemper Foundation
2019: Marianne ’66 and Peter Gleich
2018: Laura Herring ’70
2017: Arden and Harry Fisher
2016: Edward Jones
2014: Jane ’69 and Bruce Robert, and Jean Hobler
2013: Jan ’73 and Ronald Greenberg
2012: Marilyn R. Fox
2011: Consuelo E. Gallagher
2010: Marianne Knaup ’66
2009: George Herbert Walker III
2008: Jinny and Laurance L. Browning, Jr.

Donor Spotlight

“There are so many things Webster University is doing that fit into our past experiences and we wanted to help broaden the experiences of students here at Webster University.”

Marianne & Peter Gleich

Visionary Award Recipients

Learn More
News & Events

Highlights from the Office of Advancement