Leigh Gerdine College of Fine Arts Admission


An audition, portfolio or interview is required for admission consideration for Webster's degree programs in the College of Fine Arts. Students who apply to pursue a major in the College of Fine Arts will be considered for academic admission to the university upon receipt of their admissions application and supporting materials in the Office of Admission. Acceptance into a particular major in the College of Fine Arts will be determined based upon review of the audition or portfolio. Further details are below.

Art, Design, and Art History

Admission to the Department of Art, Design, and Art History as a degree-seeking student is by portfolio review. Reviews are held on campus throughout the year, and also give students the opportunity to meet faculty, tour the studios, and observe classes. Applicants with the intention of pursuing an emphasis in Art History & Criticism should submit a writing sample and may also wish to include a portfolio presentation. Students should apply for academic admission to the university before requesting a portfolio review.

2014–2015 Portfolio Review Dates

  • Friday, November 21, 2014
  • Friday, December 5, 2014
  • Friday, January 30, 2015
  • Friday, February 13, 2015
  • Friday, February 27, 2015
  • Saturday, February 28, 2015
  • Friday, March 27, 2015
  • Friday, April 17, 2015
  • Friday, May 1, 2015
  • Friday, May 29, 2015
  back to top
 

Dance

Acceptance to the Department of Dance as a degree-seeking student is by audition. There is no audition required for a dance minor. Auditions are held on campus throughout the year and conducted in the form of a class. Students should apply for academic admission to the university before requesting an audition.

2014–2015 Audition Dates

  • Friday, November 21, 2014
  • Friday, December 5, 2014
  • Friday, January 30, 2015
  • Friday, February 13, 2015
  • Friday, February 27, 2015
  • Friday, March 27, 2015
  • Friday, April 10, 2015
  • Friday, April 24, 2015
  • Friday, May 1, 2015
  back to top
 

Music

If you intend to major or minor as an undergraduate student at Webster University, you must complete an audition as part of your application. The audition will be a full day events including the opportunity for you to meet faculty from the music department, current music students, take a campus tour and observe a class. Students should apply for academic admission to the university before requesting an audition.

2014–2015 Audition Dates

  • Friday, December 5, 2014
  • Friday, February 13, 2015
  • Friday, February 27, 2015
  • Saturday, February 28, 2015
  • Friday, March 27, 2015
  • Friday, April 17, 2015
  • Friday, May 1, 2015
  • Friday, May 29, 2015
  back to top
 

Theatre

Auditions or interviews are required for all students applying to the Conservatory of Theatre Arts. Auditions/interviews are held during the school year for entrance into the following fall session. Students should apply for academic admission to the university before requesting an audition.

2014–2015 Audition Dates

  • New York, New York
  • Saturday, January 24, 2015
  • Sunday, January 25, 2015
  • Houston, Texas at the TETA Conference
  • Thursday, January 29, 2015
  • Friday, January 30, 2015
  • Chicago, Illinois
  • Monday, February 2, 2015
  • Tuesday, February 3, 2015
  • Wednesday, February 4, 2015
  • Las Vegas, Nevada
  • Thursday, February 5, 2015
  • Los Angeles, California
  • Saturday, February 7, 2015
  • Sunday, February 8, 2015
  • Atlanta, Georgia
  • February, 8, 2015
  • St. Louis Home Campus (Performance Audition Dates)
  • Friday, January 30, 2015
  • Friday, February 13, 2015
  • Friday, February 20, 2015
  • Saturday, February 21, 2015
  • Friday, February 27, 2015
  • Saturday, February 28, 2015
  • Friday, March 6, 2015

*Stage Management, Design/Technical Production and Theatre Studies and Dramaturgy interviews are arranged on an individual basis. The preferred times are Thursdays for Stage Management and Friday for Design/Technical Production.